FIFA Releases List Of Nominees For Best FIFA Football Awards 2020


World football governing body, FIFA, has announced the candidates shortlisted for seven of the individual trophies that will be presented at The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony which will take place on the 17th of December 2020.

According to a report from FIFA, two expert panels – one for women’s football and one for men’s football – selected the candidates for each category.

Lionel Messi, who won last year and Cristiano Ronaldo, who won in 2016 and 2017, as well as Robert Lewandowski, who helped Bayern Munich to win the Champions League last season, all made the shortlist for the Best FIFA Men’s Player award.


See the full list below:


The Best FIFA Men’s Player:

•Thiago Alcântara (Spain /Bayern Munich / Liverpool)

•Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal / Juventus)

•Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium / Manchester City)

•Robert Lewandowski (Poland / Bayern Munich)

•Sadio Mané (Senegal / Liverpool)

•Kylian Mbappé (France / Paris Saint-Germain)

•Lionel Messi (Argentina / Barcelona)

•Neymar (Brazil / Paris Saint-Germain)

•Sergio Ramos (Spain / Real Madrid)

•Mohamed Salah (Egypt / Liverpool)

•Virgil van Dijk (Netherlands / Liverpool)


The Best FIFA Women’s Player:

•Lucy Bronze (England / Olympique Lyonnais / Manchester City WFC)

•Delphine Cascarino (France / Olympique Lyonnais)

•Caroline Graham Hansen (Norway / FC Barcelona)

•Pernille Harder (Denmark / VfL Wolfsburg / Chelsea FC Women)

•Jennifer Hermoso (Spain / FC Barcelona)

•Ji So-yun (Korea Republic / Chelsea FC Women)

•Sam Kerr (Australia / Chelsea FC Women)

•Saki Kumagai (Japan / Olympique Lyonnais)

•Dzsenifer Marozsán (Germany / Olympique Lyonnais)

•Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands / Arsenal WFC)

•Wendie Renard (France / Olympique Lyonnais)


The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper:

•Alisson Becker (Brazil / Liverpool)

Read Also >>  FIFA Introduces Mandatory Maternity Leave For Pregnant Footballers

•Thibaut Courtois (Belgium / Real Madrid)

•Keylor Navas (Costa Rica / Paris Saint-Germain)

•Manuel Neuer (Germany / Bayern Munich)

•Jan Oblak (Slovenia / Atlético Madrid)

•Marc-André ter Stegen (Germany / Barcelona)


The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper:

•Ann-Katrin Berger (Germany / Chelsea FC Women)

•Sarah Bouhaddi (France / Olympique Lyonnais)

•Christiane Endler (Chile / Paris Saint-Germain)

•Hedvig Lindahl (Sweden / VfL Wolfsburg / Atlético Madrid)

•Alyssa Naeher (USA / Chicago Red Stars)
Ellie Roebuck (England / Manchester City WFC)


The Best FIFA Men’s Coach:

•Marcelo Bielsa (Argentina / Leeds United)

•Hans-Dieter Flick (Germany / Bayern Munich)

•Jürgen Klopp (Germany / Liverpool)

•Julen Lopetegui (Spain / Sevilla)

•Zinedine Zidane (France / Real Madrid)


The Best FIFA Women’s Coach:

•Lluís Cortés (Spain / Barcelona)

•Rita Guarino (Italy / Juventus Women)

•Emma Hayes (England / Chelsea FC Women)

•Stephan Lerch (Germany / VfL Wolfsburg)

•Hege Riise (Norway / LSK Kvinner)

•Jean-Luc Vasseur (France / Olympique Lyonnais)

•Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands / Dutch national team)


FIFA Puskás Award:

•Shirley Cruz (CRC) – Costa Rica v. Panama [Concacaf Women’s Olympic qualifying] (28 January 2020)

•Giorgian De Arrascaeta (URU) – Ceará SC v. CR Flamengo [Brasileirão – Brazil] (25 August 2019)

•Jordan Flores (ENG) – Shamrock Rovers FC v. Dundalk FC [League of Ireland] (28 February 2020)

•André-Pierre Gignac (FRA) – UANL Tigres v. Pumas UNAM [Liga MX – Mexico] (1 March 2020)

•Sophie Ingle (WAL) – Arsenal WFC v. Chelsea FC Women [FA Women’s Super League – England] (19 January 2020)

•Zlatko Junuzović (AUT) – SK Rapid Wien v. FC Red Bull Salzburg [Bundesliga – Austria] (24 June 2020)

•Hlompho Kekana (RSA) – Mamelodi Sundowns FC v. Cape Town City FC [South African Premier Soccer League] (20 August 2019)

Read Also >>  Four Falcons Make FIFA/CAF Team Of The Decade

•Son Heungmin (KOR) – Tottenham Hotspur FC v. Burnley FC [Premier League – England] (7 December 2019)

•Leonel Quiñónez (ECU) – Universidad Católica v. CSD Macará [Serie A – Ecuador] (19 August 2019)

•Luis Suárez (URU) – FC Barcelona v. RCD Mallorca [LaLiga [MG(1] – Spain] (7 December 2019)

•Caroline Weir (SCO) – Manchester City WFC v. Manchester United WFC [FA Women’s Super League – England] (7 September 2019)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.